Article · Shopify
Best AI chatbot for Shopify: apps compared
Nine AI chatbot apps for Shopify compared: what they answer from, how they check order status, how they hand over to a person and what they cost.
In short
- 01On 20 October 2026 we compared 9 AI chatbot apps from the Shopify App Store: Chaterimo (our product), Shopify Inbox, Tidio, Gorgias, Chatty, Zipchat, Rep AI, Intercom and Re:amaze.
- 02Shopify's own free app, Shopify Inbox, now has an opt-in AI agent (the Inbox agent) that answers from your product catalogue and policies and hands the chat to your team.
- 03For order status, Shopify Inbox asks the customer to sign in, Tidio asks for the e-mail and order ID, and Chaterimo asks for the order number and the e-mail or phone number on the order. The other apps do not describe publicly how they verify the customer.
- 04Prices follow three models: a monthly plan with a limit on AI conversations, a price per AI resolution (Gorgias and Intercom about $1), or a plan plus your own API key (BYOK).
- 05Eight of the nine apps combine the AI with live chat or a helpdesk for your team. Chaterimo is an AI agent that hands over through a ticket and e-mail and has no live chat.
Contents 10
- Which AI chatbot apps for Shopify did we compare?
- What should an AI chatbot for Shopify do?
- How do the apps differ?
- How does an AI chatbot check order status safely?
- What is BYOK and why does it change the price?
- What does an AI chatbot for Shopify cost?
- Which apps from older lists are no longer a fit?
- How do you choose an AI chatbot for your store?
- Summary
- Frequently asked questions
The best AI chatbot for Shopify answers from your product catalogue, looks up order status without revealing a customer's data to someone else, and hands the customer over to a person when it cannot help. On 20 October 2026 we compared nine apps from the Shopify App Store: Chaterimo, Shopify Inbox, Tidio, Gorgias, Chatty, Zipchat, Rep AI, Intercom and Re:amaze. They differ most in whether the AI comes with live chat for your team, how they check who asks about an order, and how they charge. Chaterimo is our product; we describe the others from their own pages.
Which AI chatbot apps for Shopify did we compare?
The table lists AI chatbot apps that answer shoppers on a Shopify store and are installed from the Shopify App Store. Prices are from each vendor's own pricing page on 20 October 2026, in USD per month with monthly billing unless the cell says otherwise. Rep AI publishes no prices on its website, so its prices come from its Shopify App Store listing.
| App (developer) | Type | AI answers from | Order status in the chat | Hand-over to a person | Price (20 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chaterimo (our product) | AI agent | products through the Shopify API, knowledge base | yes, with order number and the e-mail or phone on the order | ticket and e-mail | free plan; paid plans on the pricing page; 7-day trial |
| Shopify Inbox (Shopify) | live chat with an AI agent | product catalogue, policies, pages, knowledge base | yes, after the customer signs in | your team in Inbox, otherwise the store's e-mail address | free |
| Tidio (Tidio) | live chat with an AI agent (Lyro) | your support content | yes, with e-mail and order ID | live chat or ticket | free plan; Lyro from $39 for 50 AI conversations; 7-day trial |
| Gorgias (Gorgias) | helpdesk with an AI agent | your guidance, help center, website, documents | yes; verification not described | your team in the helpdesk | from $10 for 50 tickets; AI Agent $1.00 per automated interaction; 7-day trial |
| Chatty (Chatty) | AI agent with live chat | products, FAQ | yes; verification not described | live chat on paid plans | free plan with 50 AI conversations; from $19.99 for 100 |
| Zipchat (Zipchat) | AI agent with live chat | catalogue, policies, orders | yes; verification not described | your team, or a ticket in your helpdesk | from $80 for 750 AI replies; 7-day trial |
| Rep AI (Rep AI Technologies) | AI agent with live chat | catalogue, policies | yes; verification not described | live chat, with a summary | listing: free up to 100 visitors, from $104 for 10,000 visitors; 14-day trial |
| Intercom (Intercom) | helpdesk with an AI agent (Fin) | not stated on the listing | yes; verification not described | Intercom inbox or your helpdesk | seats from $29 (annual billing); Fin $0.99 per outcome; 14-day trial |
| Re:amaze (Reamaze) | helpdesk and live chat with an AI agent | not stated | not stated for the AI | live chat in the helpdesk | from $29 per team member with 5 AI resolutions; 14-day trial |
Sources for each app are in the sections below. The apps count usage differently (conversations, replies, tickets, resolutions, visitors), so compare the price for your own monthly volume rather than the headline number.
What should an AI chatbot for Shopify do?
Most chats on an online store ask the same few things: where is my order, how do I return this, what does shipping cost, and which product should I buy. An AI chatbot is worth installing when it answers these correctly. Check these points:
- Answers from the product catalogue
- The chatbot knows your products, variants, prices and stock, and recommends a specific product. It must update them regularly, or it advises from old prices.
- Order status ("Where is my order?")
- The chatbot reads the order from Shopify and tells the customer its status and tracking. Because an order holds a name and an address, it should first check that the person asking placed the order.
- Your policies
- Shipping, payment, returns and exchanges come from your texts, not from the products. Good apps let you add them as text, files or pages.
- Hand-over to a person
- When the AI cannot help, a person takes over: in a live chat in the same chat window, or later through a ticket or e-mail.
- Installation
- On Shopify, an app adds its chat window through an app embed in the theme editor, so you paste no code.
- Pricing model
- A monthly plan with a limit, a price per AI resolution, or a plan plus your own API key. Calculate the price for your number of conversations per month.
How do the apps differ?
Chaterimo
Chaterimo is our product, so we describe it in more detail, but by the same criteria as the others. It is an AI agent for customer support of online stores, installed from the Shopify App Store as “Chaterimo: GenAI‑powered chat”1.
- Product catalogue: after install, the app imports your active products through the Shopify API and trains the chatbot on them. During the trial and on paid plans it downloads them again every day.
- Knowledge base: you add shipping, returns and payment rules as text, files or pages of your store.
- Order status: the customer gives the order number and the e-mail or phone number used on the order. When the contact matches, the chatbot gives the payment and fulfilment status, the ordered items and, when Shopify has it, the tracking number; without a matching contact it shows nothing about the order.
- Hand-over to a person: when the customer asks for a person or the problem stays unresolved and the customer leaves a contact, Chaterimo creates a ticket with a summary of the conversation. The e-mail about the new ticket goes to the ticket notification address you set in Chaterimo. Tickets are part of the trial and of the Evolve plan and higher. Chaterimo has no live chat in which your team would answer in the chat window.
- Channels: the chat window on your store and Facebook Messenger.
- Proactive messages: the Sales Assistant opens the chat with an AI message on pages you choose, after a delay you set, and can take the cart into account (paid plans and the trial).
- Models: GPT, Claude, Gemini and Grok. With your own API key (BYOK) you pay the model provider directly, and Chaterimo sets no monthly message limit; plans with Chaterimo's keys include a monthly number of messages.
- Installation and price: an app embed in the theme editor, no code. A new store starts with a 7-day trial with all features; Shopify then bills the plan you choose. Plans are on the pricing page for Shopify.
It fits stores with a larger catalogue, where customers choose by parameters and need advice on which product to buy, and stores that want to choose the language model. If you want your team to answer customers live in the chat window, choose one of the apps with live chat below, or see our comparison of live chat apps for Shopify. Installation step by step is in the guide to Chaterimo for Shopify.
Shopify Inbox
Shopify Inbox is Shopify's own free chat app, and its listing now calls it an AI sales associate2. The AI part is the Inbox agent, an opt-in feature. It answers from your product catalogue, store policies, knowledge base facts and files and published pages and blog posts; for a product in your catalogue it can also use web search with sources3.
You choose whether the Inbox agent takes all conversations, only those outside your team's availability, or none. It looks up order status after the customer signs in, hands the chat to your team with its context, and gives the customer your store's e-mail address when no one is available. Customers always see a notice that they are chatting with AI. Shopify Inbox needs the Basic, Grow, Advanced or Plus plan, and the Inbox agent needs new customer accounts4. Shopify does not say which language model it uses.
Shopify Inbox fits stores that want to start for free, inside the Shopify admin, with their team answering on desktop or in the mobile app.
Tidio
Tidio combines live chat, automated flows and the AI agent Lyro5. Lyro scrapes your support content and answers from it, and on product pages it compares products and adds them to the cart. Tidio says it powers Lyro with Claude from Anthropic and its own models6. Its Shopify action for order status always asks for the e-mail and order ID and can also ask for the ZIP code or phone number; it is available on all plans, including the free one7. When a customer needs a person, Lyro alerts your team in the live chat, or creates a ticket6.
Tidio has a free plan with live chat. With monthly billing, Starter costs $29 a month for 100 billable conversations and the Lyro AI Agent starts at $39 a month for 50 Lyro conversations ($24.17 and $32.50 a month with annual billing); paid plans have a 7-day trial8. Tidio fits stores that want live chat and an AI agent from one vendor; our comparison of Chaterimo and Tidio goes into more detail.
Gorgias
Gorgias is a helpdesk for online stores: e-mail, chat and social messages in one place, with Shopify orders next to each ticket9. Its AI Agent handles order, shipping and return questions, and the Shopping Assistant answers product questions and recommends products. The AI Agent answers from guidance you write, your help center, your synced store website, public pages and uploaded documents11. The listing does not describe how the AI verifies the customer before it shows an order.
Plans are priced by tickets: Starter costs $10 a month for 50 tickets (monthly billing only). The AI Agent costs $1.00 per automated interaction with monthly billing ($0.90 with annual billing), and each one also counts as a ticket. The trial lasts 7 days10. Gorgias fits teams that already work in a helpdesk and want AI to take part of the tickets. Other helpdesks are compared in Gorgias alternatives for Shopify.
Chatty
Chatty is an AI chatbot with live chat, a shared inbox and a mobile app12. The AI learns your products and FAQ, recommends products and helps with order tracking; the listing does not say how it verifies the customer. The free plan has 50 AI conversations a month, unlimited conversations with your team and AI trained on up to 200 products; handing a chat from the AI to a person starts with the paid plans. With monthly billing, Basic costs $19.99 a month for 100 AI conversations ($16.99 with annual billing), and each additional AI conversation costs $0.4013. Chatty fits small and mid-sized stores that want AI and live chat at a low entry price.
Zipchat
Zipchat is an AI agent with live chat and a shared inbox for chat, e-mail, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger14. According to its website, it reads your catalogue, policies and orders, answers in the customer's language and, when a person is needed, creates a ticket in Zendesk, Gorgias, Intercom, Freshdesk or Salesforce with the transcript16. Zipchat's pricing page lists Starter at $80 a month with monthly billing ($64 with annual billing) for 750 AI replies, a 7-day trial on every plan and a 30-day money-back guarantee15. Its Shopify App Store listing also shows a free plan with 120 AI replies a month, which the pricing page does not list14. Zipchat fits stores that keep their team in another helpdesk and want the AI in front of it.
Rep AI
Rep AI is an AI agent with live chat. It learns your catalogue, policies and brand voice, recommends products, handles order tracking and returns, and hands the conversation to your live chat operators with a summary17. The listing describes it as GPT-powered and answering in each shopper's language. Rep AI's own pricing page shows no prices, only a 14-day trial18. Its Shopify App Store listing prices it by store visitors: free for 100 visitors and 100 products a month, then from $104 a month for 10,000 visitors, plus $12 for each additional 1,000 visitors17. Rep AI fits stores that want the AI to act as a sales associate and can estimate their traffic.
Intercom
Intercom is a customer service platform whose AI agent Fin works with Intercom or with your current helpdesk19. On the listing, Fin answers product and order questions with real-time data and can edit shipping details, refund and create orders. Intercom seats cost from $29 a month with annual billing (Essential; Advanced $85, Expert $132), Fin costs $0.99 per outcome, and the trial lasts 14 days20. Intercom fits larger teams with a support process across several channels.
Re:amaze
Re:amaze is a helpdesk with live chat, chatbots and an AI agent; your team can manage, change and create Shopify orders in the chat21. The listing does not say what the AI agent answers from or whether it looks up orders for shoppers. Plans start at $29 per team member a month with monthly billing ($26 with annual billing), including 5 AI resolutions per user a month; each additional resolution costs $0.85, and the trial lasts 14 days22. Re:amaze fits teams that want a classic helpdesk with some AI help.
How does an AI chatbot check order status safely?
An app connected to Shopify can read orders. The customer types an order number and the chatbot tells them the status, the shipping method and the tracking number. The difference is how the chatbot checks that the person asking placed the order:
- Shopify Inbox asks the customer to sign in to their customer account first4.
- Tidio's order status action asks for the e-mail and order ID, optionally the ZIP code or phone number7.
- Chaterimo asks for the order number and the e-mail or phone number on the order, and shows nothing about the order when the contact does not match.
- Gorgias, Chatty, Zipchat, Rep AI and Intercom track orders according to their pages but do not describe the check publicly.
Before you choose, ask the vendor what the chatbot shows when someone types another customer's order number. An order holds a name, an address and a phone number, so the chatbot should not show them to anyone else.
What is BYOK and why does it change the price?
- BYOK (bring your own key)
- You create an API key at the model provider (OpenAI, Anthropic, Google or xAI), paste it into the chatbot and pay the provider directly for what the chatbot uses.
Most AI chatbot apps sell AI usage inside their plans: a number of AI conversations or replies per month, or a price for each AI resolution. With BYOK you pay the app a monthly fee and the provider for the tokens (the units of text providers bill by) your chatbot really uses, so a busy month costs more with the provider, not with the app. You also choose the model and can switch it when a provider releases a new version. Chaterimo offers both: plans with your own API key and plans with Chaterimo's keys; the OpenAI API key guide shows how to get a key. The guide on how to choose an LLM for customer support explains how to compare models, and our blind benchmark of AI models compares them on real questions from online stores.
What does an AI chatbot for Shopify cost?
All the apps in the table install for free from the Shopify App Store; what you pay depends on the pricing model:
- Free: Shopify Inbox, including its Inbox agent; free plans with low limits from Tidio, Chatty and Chaterimo, and on the Shopify listings of Zipchat and Rep AI.
- Monthly plan with a limit on AI usage: Tidio (Lyro conversations), Chatty (AI conversations), Zipchat (AI replies), Rep AI (visitors), Chaterimo plans with Chaterimo's keys (messages).
- Price per AI resolution: Gorgias ($1.00 per automated interaction with monthly billing), Intercom ($0.99 per outcome), Re:amaze ($0.85 per extra resolution), on top of the plan or seats.
- Plan plus your own API key: Chaterimo plans with your own key, plus what you pay the model provider.
Shopify adds app charges to your Shopify bill. Take the number of conversations from last month and calculate the price with two or three candidates.
Which apps from older lists are no longer a fit?
Lists of Shopify chatbots often name apps that changed. We checked them on 20 October 2026:
- Gobot still has a listing in the Shopify App Store, but its website now presents a first-party data platform with a visitor identity pixel and guided product recommendations, and does not mention Shopify23.
- Siena AI has no app in the Shopify App Store; its pricing page names neither an app nor Shopify24.
- Other AI chatbots with a Shopify listing that we did not compare in detail include Moose AI Chatbot & Live Chat, SmartBot, Willdesk and Manifest AI. They can be worth a look; check the same points as above.
How do you choose an AI chatbot for your store?
- Write down 20–30 real questions your customers ask: product choice, sizes, shipping, returns, order status.
- Choose two or three apps by what you need most: an AI agent alone, or AI with live chat for your team.
- In the trial, ask each app the same questions and check the facts in the answers: prices, stock, delivery times.
- Try the order status with someone else's order number and check that the chatbot reveals nothing.
- Calculate the price for your monthly number of conversations and choose the app with the most correct answers within your budget.
Summary
On 20 October 2026 you choose from at least nine AI chatbot apps for Shopify. Shopify Inbox is free and now has its own AI agent; Tidio, Gorgias, Intercom and Re:amaze add AI to live chat or a helpdesk; Chatty, Zipchat and Rep AI start from the AI agent and add live chat; Chaterimo is an AI agent with your choice of model and BYOK, which hands over through tickets. Decide by whether your team will answer live, how the app checks orders and which pricing model suits your volume, and test two or three apps on your real questions. Chaterimo has a 7-day trial; the setup is in the guide to Chaterimo for Shopify.
-
Shopify App Store, “Chaterimo: GenAI‑powered chat”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://apps.shopify.com/chaterimo ↑
-
Shopify App Store, “Shopify Inbox”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://apps.shopify.com/inbox ↑
-
Shopify Help Center, “Shopify Inbox” (Inbox agent), accessed 20 October 2026, https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/inbox/ai ↑
-
Shopify Help Center, “Assigning your Inbox agent to conversations”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/inbox/assigning-your-ai-staff-member ↑↑
-
Shopify App Store, “Tidio: AI Chatbot & Live Chat”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://apps.shopify.com/tidio-chat ↑
-
Tidio, “Lyro AI Agent” (product page and FAQ), accessed 20 October 2026, https://www.tidio.com/lyro/ ↑↑
-
Tidio, “Get order status from Shopify”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://www.tidio.com/integrations/get-order-status-from-shopify/ ↑↑
-
Tidio, “Tidio Pricing”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://www.tidio.com/pricing/ ↑
-
Shopify App Store, “Gorgias: AI Helpdesk & Chat”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://apps.shopify.com/helpdesk ↑
-
Gorgias, “Gorgias Pricing”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://www.gorgias.com/pricing ↑
-
Gorgias Help Center, “Add your brand's content for AI Agent”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://docs.gorgias.com/en-US/onboard-ai-agent-with-knowledge-sources-1216498 ↑
-
Shopify App Store, “Chatty AI Chatbot & Live Chat”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://apps.shopify.com/chatty ↑
-
Chatty Help Center, “Pricing”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://help.meetchatty.com/product-roadmap/pricing ↑
-
Shopify App Store, “Zipchat AI Chatbot & Live Chat”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://apps.shopify.com/zipchat ↑↑
-
Zipchat, “Pricing”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://www.zipchat.ai/pricing ↑
-
Zipchat, “AI agent and chatbot for ecommerce, every channel”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://zipchat.ai/ai-info-page ↑
-
Shopify App Store, “Rep AI: AI Agent & Live Chat”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://apps.shopify.com/rep-ai-sales-associate ↑↑
-
Rep AI, “Rep AI Pricing”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://www.hellorep.ai/pricing ↑
-
Shopify App Store, “Fin AI Agent & Intercom”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://apps.shopify.com/intercom ↑
-
Intercom, “Intercom Pricing”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://www.intercom.com/pricing ↑
-
Shopify App Store, “Re:amaze AI Helpdesk & Chat”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://apps.shopify.com/reamaze ↑
-
Re:amaze, “Pricing”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://www.reamaze.com/pricing ↑
-
Shopify App Store, “Gobot”, and Gobot, home page, accessed 20 October 2026, https://apps.shopify.com/gobot-1 and https://www.getgobot.com/ ↑
-
Siena AI, “Pricing”, accessed 20 October 2026, https://www.siena.cx/pricing ↑
Frequently asked questions
Does Shopify have its own AI chatbot?
Yes. Shopify Inbox is free and has an opt-in AI agent, the Inbox agent, which answers from your catalogue, policies and pages and hands the chat to your team. It needs the Basic plan or higher and new customer accounts.
Can an AI chatbot tell customers where their order is?
Yes, if it reads orders from Shopify. Shopify Inbox asks the customer to sign in, Tidio asks for the e-mail and order ID, and Chaterimo shows an order only when the e-mail or phone number matches the one on the order.
How much does an AI chatbot for Shopify cost?
Installing the app is free. On 20 October 2026 the cheapest paid plan of the compared apps was Gorgias Starter at $10 a month for 50 tickets, and helpdesk apps charged about $1 per AI resolution on top. Chaterimo's plans are on the pricing page for Shopify.
Which AI models does Chaterimo use?
GPT, Claude, Gemini and Grok. With your own API key you pay the provider directly; the AI benchmark compares the models on customer-support questions.
Can a person take over from the AI chatbot?
In most of the compared apps, your team takes over in live chat or a helpdesk. Chaterimo creates a ticket with a summary of the conversation and e-mails it to the ticket notification address you set in Chaterimo.
Changelog
- Rewritten and moved to the new blog: apps, prices and features checked in the Shopify App Store on 20 October 2026; merged with the article “Shopify AI chatbot”.
- Published.